Covid-19 Updates

For the latest news on the school’s phased reopening plans, please continue to check your emails or click here.

For Home Learning provision, please visit your child’s Class Page

Home Page

Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Primary School Love, Live and Learn as Jesus taught us

  • Search
  • Translate


Welcome to our Governors' section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

We have also provided a Register of Governor Interests and an Annual Statement of Issues for your information.


The Governing body of Our Lady of Lourdes is made up of a group of people, who bring a range of experiences to the role, ensuring sufficient diversity of views and experience. Decisions are a joint responsibility of the governing body.


As Governors of a Catholic school, Foundation Governors (appointed by the Bishop) are mindful of our responsibilities towards maintaining and developing the Catholic ethos of Our Lady of Lourdes which permeates all aspects of school life.


Our role is strategic and our main functions are to:


  • Agree aims and objectives of the school
  • Approve policies and financial committment for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Agree targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making
  • Be both a source of challenge and support to the school leadership team


The Governors of Our Lady of Lourdes are committed to ensuring that the children who attend our school receive the best possible education. We are increasingly proud of our school and the progress we continue to make.

We welcome comments from Parents and Carers and actively seek the opinions of all staff and children. We can be contacted through the school office.


Name Type of Governor Office
Rev Jim Williams Foundation Governor  
Karen McGhee Foundation Governor  
Joan Curran Foundation Governor Chair of Governors
Phil Hinchey Foundation Governor  
Jim Corrigan Foundation Governor Vice Chair of Governors
Yvonne Morgan Foundation Governor  
Michael Coady Foundation Governor  
Elaine Thurtle LA Governor  
Rita McLoughlin Staff Governor Executive Head Teacher
Liz Hopewell Staff Governor  
Jayne Russell Associate Governor School Business Manager
Olly Bell Associate Governor Deputy Head Teacher
Jenny Fitzgerald  Clerk to Governors  
VACANCY Parent Governor